Mini Book Review of ‘The Last Hour: An Israeli Insider Looks at the End Times’ by Amir Tsarfati

A friend gifted me this book and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Amir Tsarfati is a Jewish Christian with a unique story. Orphaned and raised by a foster family in Israel, Tsarfati’s adoptive family kicked him out when he came to faith in Christ. He managed to overcome this obstacle and served his mandatory military service in the IDF rising to the rank of Major with a fair amount of responsibility.

All of this life history gives him a unique perspective as he approaches Scripture and Bible scholarship. This particular work is eschatological in nature examining Biblical prophecy as it pertains to modern day Israel – both in recent history and in the future. I appreciated Tsarfati’s take on end-times theology. I have long argued that good eschatology should not be sensational. Unfortunately, many teachers, pastors, and authors worry more about clicks and views than they do fidelity to Scripture. My dispensational professors is grad school often reminded us that when common sense makes good sense, seek no other sense … and Tsarfati’s approach to Biblical prophecy is chock full of good, common sense. He has the ability to take passages that may seem complicated and present them in a manner that that is easy to grasp.

I especially appreciated Tsarfati’s take on Ezekiel and will be diving in to my Bible to dig a little deeper on that text myself. I highly recommend this work for anyone who is interested in Biblical prophecy.

Leave a comment