Mini Book Review of ‘Puddings to Podiums: From Fast Food Fat Man to Ultramarathon Champion’ by Nathan Flear

This little book is not world class literature. It is however exactly what it is promoted to be. Author Nathan Flear details his transformation from sedentary to world-class level ultra runner. The subtitle suggests he transitioned from “fat man” to a champion and, as a former fat man myself, I sometimes think authors of this ilk over hype just how fat and sedentary they were in the beginning … and I suspect that may be the case here. Even if that’s the case, I appreciate when authors are willing share their journeys with honesty and transparency. Stories like these do offer hope for the rest of us. I may never be an ultra running champion, but I can take comfort in the knowledge that others have walked (or ran) similar journeys as I am attempting for myself.

Leave a comment